Bola Ahmed Tinubu, has been declared the winner of the 2023 presidential elections.

President elect, Bola Ahmed Tinubu

Mahmood Yakubu, chairman of the Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, announced the results at 4am on Wednesday, 1st March, 2023.

Inec chairman, Mahmood Yakubu

Tinubu defeated his closest components, Labour Party’s Peter Obi, People’s Democratic Party’s Atiku Abubakar, and New Nigeria’s People’s Party’s Rabi’u Kwankwaso, to become the 6th democratically elected president of Nigeria.

He won majority of the vote with 8,794,726 votes. Atiku polled 6,984,290 votes to place second, while the Labour Party candidate, Peter Obi, came third with 6,093,962 votes.

According to Mahmood Yakubu, the Commission would issue certificate of returns to the President and Vice President Elect by 3pm today Wednesday at the International Conference Center Abuja.

Story: Asmau Sani

Media: Radio Nigeria / Facebook