The Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, has disclosed that it will conduct four bye elections into National Assembly seats recently declared vacant by lawmakers nominated for Ministerial positions by President Tinubu.

President Bola Tinubu

The Chairman of the commission, Prof. Mahmood Yakubu made this disclosure at the 2023 Post Election Review meeting with Resident Electoral Commissioners, RECs in Lagos on Friday, 4th August 2023.

Yakubu explained that the bye elections would be conducted to fill the vacant seats of two Senators and two members of the House of Representatives.

He said, INEC had a total of eight bye elections, adding that the elections would also provide it the opportunity to keep test running some of the suggestions and recommendations made at the post election meeting with stakeholders.

The election will be held to occupy the Surulere I Constituency in Lagos State, Jalingo Yaransi Constituency in Taraba state, Chibok Constituency in Borno state and Chikun Constituency in Kaduna State.

Story: Hilda Katu