President Muhammadu Buhari has directed all members of the Federal Executive Council, FEC, running for elective offices to resign on or before Monday, 16th May 2022.

A statement by the Minister of information and Culture, Lai Mohammed, after the FEC meeting on Wednesday, 11th May 2022, said the directive excludes Vice President Yemi Osinbajo because he is an elected member of the cabinet.

The affected FEC members are Minister of Justice and Attorney General of the Federation Abubakar Malami, Minister of Science, Technology, and Innovation, Ogbonnaya Onu; Minister of Labour and Employment, Chris Ngige; Minister of State for Education, Emeka Nwajiuba, Minister of Transportation, Rotimi Amaechi; Minister of Niger Delta, Godswill Akpabio, who have declared their intention to run for the 2023 presidential race on the platform of the All Progressives Congress (APC)

Other affected FEC members are the Minister of State Mines and Steel, Uche Ogar, who is a governorship aspirant in Abia State, and the Minister of Women Affairs, Pauline Tallen, who running for a senatorial seat in Plateau State.

Lai Mohammed also confirmed that any amendment or additions to this directive will be announced and might involve political appointees.

Story: Asma’u Sani