Nigerian rapper, Olamilekan Massoud Al-Khalifah, popularly known as Laycon, has become part of the Grammys voting committee. This was revealed on Tuesday, October 18th, 2022 through the Grammys’ official Twitter account.

The process of selection for Grammy voting members: The Grammy’s voting members are made up of recording artists, performers, songwriters, producers, engineers, instrumentalists, and other creators who are active in the recording industry.

Individuals must have creative or technical credits on at least six commercially released tracks on a physical music release or 12 on a digital album to qualify to become a member of the voting academy. Any individual who falls short of these requirements may still apply to become a voting member with an endorsement from at least two current Recording Academy voting members.

According to Billboard, about 12,000 of the Academy’s total 21,00 members are eligible to vote.

The roles of voting members include carrying out two voting processes to determine the winner. The first stage is the nomination process where the voters receive the ballots and vote in areas of their expertise including the major four categories (Record of the Year, Song of the Year, Album of the Year, Best New Artist).

After the nomination process comes the final voting where the voters receive the final shortlist and vote in areas of their expertise including the big four categories.

Story: Christy Dung