The Kano state governorship election petition tribunal has sacked, Abba Kabir Yusuf, of the New Nigerian Peoples Party, NNPP, as governor of Kano state and declared Nasiru Gawuna of the All Progressive Congress, APC, as the winner of the March 2023 elections, on Wednesday, 20th September 2023.

The three-man panel presided over by Justice Oluyemi Akintan-Osadebay ruled that 165,663 votes from Yusuf total votes were invalid.

They ruled that 165,663 ballot papers were neither stamped nor signed, they were therefore invalid.

Justice Osaadebay, asked the Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, to withdraw the certificate of return issued to Governor Abba Kabir Yusuf of Kano state and to give same to Nasiru Gawuna of All Progressive Congress, APC.

Hours after the Tribunal declared Nasiru Gawuna as the winner of the Kano State governorship election, the state government imposed a 24-hour curfew to avert the breakdown of law and order.

APC and their governorship candidate, Nasiru Gawuna, challenged the victory of Governor Abba Kabir Yusuf of the New Nigeria Peoples Party, NNPP, in the 18th March 2023 governorship elections.

Story: Asma’u Sani