Kogi State Governor, Yahaya Bello, has cast his at the ongoing off-season election in the state.

Kogi State Governor, Yahaya Bello,

The governor cast his vote at his polling unit 11 located in Okene Agassa at around 9: 33 am on Saturday,11th November 2023

The governor was accompanied by his wife who also voted, and other security personnel, in what was observed to be a seamless exercise in the area.

Meanwhile, the Kogi State governorship election commenced early on Saturday, November 11, 2023, with electoral officials and materials arriving at various Polling Units before 8 am in most places.

Voting started at approximately 8:32 at the unit, with the presence of policemen and law enforcement operatives ensuring compliance with the process

The off-cycle poll is taking place across all 21 LGs of the state, involving 18 political parties; however, only four are in contention.

The candidates in contention are Usman Ododo of the All Progressives Congress APC, Dino Melaye of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Leke Abejide of the African Democratic Congress (ADC), and Muritala Ajaka of the Social Democratic Party, SDP.

This election will determine the successor of Governor Yahaya Bello, whose second tenure concludes on January 27, 2024. Data from the Independent National Electoral Commission INEC, indicates that the state has approximately 1.9 million registered voters.